2016 recap

Well, I didn’t do a great job of keeping up with this, huh? Steph and I were talking about how we’ve both fallen off the wagon (I moreso than her), and we think maybe some kind of simplified, more frequent check-in will help. Neither of us wants to let the blog go, so we’ll work on it!

And onto the recap:

CRAFTY THINGS:

  • Knit a pair of socks. Mmm, how about most of one?
  • Knit a pair of mittens. Nope!
  • Get better at calligraphy. I’m fairly certain I didn’t even touch any of my calligraphy supplies. Did I really let a year get away from me?
  • Do something creative for at least 30 min. a week. Some weeks, I did this, and it was great. Other weeks, not so much. Definitely something I want to take into 2017, however.

FOR ME:

  • Send 1 card/month. Ha. Hahaha. Nope.
  • Reduce procrastination and time spent on the internet. I’ve gotten better at both of these, but I like to have the reminder. This goal is very tightly coupled with all the others: you don’t get stuff done and you can’t be connected with others if you’re staring at a screen and passively consuming.
  • Go to the Margaret Mitchell house. Nope! I didn’t really want to do this after all.
  • Go to Fernbank Museum. Surprisingly, I couldn’t really find someone to come with me. Some coworkers are participating in a thing there before too long, though, so I might go then.
  • Go take photos in the country. I mostly just stared at the country when I drove out, but I did get some shots! IMG_8949.JPG
  • Save $3,500. Done!
  • Get credit card balances to zero—and keep them there. Weeeeelll, we’re close.

 

I was reading someone’s 2016 book list on Steph’s recommendation, and came across this blog post. I really like the approach, so I’m ripping it off!

 

What are your strongest memories of the year?
2016 sucked in so many ways. January kicked off in a terrible way with the loss of my grandma, and that’s still really hard. And that’s what it is: a loss. There’s a hole in my life that wasn’t there before this year.

There was lots of drama at work, with people leaving (whether they wanted to or not), but there were also some big accomplishments. I did a lot of really solid work and am starting to get some of the recognition I deserve.

But there are other things: the election (for better and for worse), seeing a friend I hadn’t seen in years (twice!), tons of patio and pool time, doing a ton of work on my apartment to make it a space I love being in. Seriously, I walk in and sigh with happiness when I unlock the door. It’s such a nice feeling.

What did you do that you’d never done before?
I took my first vacation by myself, and it was amazing. I was nervous about whether I’d get bored, so I kept the beach visit short, but by the end, I was having such a good time that I tried to extend it. I should totally go ahead and book another trip now, actually…

I also picked peaches for the first time, went camping in the Upper Peninsula and went to Atlanta’s Bacon Fest, which is awesome and hilarious. I brought personal stuff into my office for the first time. About time, I guess—I’ve been there more than four years.

I also got myself flowers every week, which is the only resolution I’ve kept. I highly recommend it. It’s such a simple thing, but it’s important to have a little spot of beauty in your day.

What did you want and get?
Personally: a lot of growth in terms of trusting myself and believing in who I am.

Professionally: a 23% raise—not too shabby.

What did you want and not get?
Personally: my way, in a lot of cases. Probably for the best, though. I’d get spoiled quickly.

Professionally: Um, a 37% raise. It’s totally justified, I swear. I work my ass off.

What would you like to have in the new year that you didn’t in this one?
Peace, more time off (these might be related).

Quote a song lyric that sums up the year.
I am gonna make it through this year
If it kills me.
– The Mountain Goats, This Year

What was your most enjoyable purchase?
This is so vain, but my best purchase really was getting my hair straightened. It makes life so much easier if you aren’t forced to spend an hour drying and straightening your hair, only for it to poof up when you step outside.

Did you travel? If so, where?
PCB for beach trips
Chicago
North GA mountains
The UP

Wow, is that really it? Next year I hope to use my SkyMiles to go somewhere awesome, plus either Mexico or Cuba.

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Relaxed! Like, actually relaxed, doing the things I love with the people I love.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Wasting things: time, money, energy on things that weren’t worth it.

Compared to last year, how are you the same? How are you different?
I don’t think my personality has really changed, I and I guess I don’t expect it to at this stage in the game. I do think I’ve come to trust myself, my beliefs and abilities more, as I said earlier. I’m also really trying to give myself and others more grace. We could all use a little more of that.

 

2016 collage.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

