May-August 2016: Goals progress

Guys, it’s time to get ready for summer. Oh, it’s Labor Day? Well, shit.

1. Move 401ks to IRAs at my bank. I have gathered most of my documentation and have been researching what types of accounts I need, but I think I really just need a financial adviser at my bank to do it for me. I also have started buying stock in my company, which is going to actually pay off.

2. Lose 20 pounds. I have five pounds to go. I’ve been up and down since April, and I just can’t seem to commit to those last five pounds.

3. Clothing budget of $500. Make 5 items of clothing. $165.50/$500. I’ve bought several tops, a pair of gray skinny jeans and shoes. Adding this up, I’m actually amazed it’s so little. I’ve made no clothes, but I have hemmed/mended three items and wear them to work.

4. Buy a new house; sell my old house. DONE, DONE, FOREVER DONE. We moved into the new house in May, and work has just continued and continued. Everything needs to be a new thing, and I’m wholly frustrated with the timing and quality of the work. Our pool underwent a complete remodel. Our ceilings were scraped. Most of the house was painted. The floors were refinished. We had a new floor installed in the kitchen/entry. Lights were installed. Plus all the unpacking, and the hanging, and the arranging.

What this goal didn’t take into account was that I might be doing projects at my new house. I am. In addition to just unpacking and arranging everything, I’ve:
-Replaced the screens in one window and my sliding patio door. (Do you need to replace a screen? For sure do it yourself. I helped my mom redo every screen in our house when I was a kid, so I already knew how to do it. This tutorial is good.)
-Bought all new light fixtures and handles and blinds and other details.. Yeah, yeah, it’s “shopping.” It’s incredibly challenging to shop for a house full of these items. And measure for them. And make sure the money spent is on things that make me happy.

Lately, I’ve been researching paint sprayers because I have several doors, rooms, bathroom cabinets and a patio to paint. I have a yard to finish. I have things to redo “for now.” This house is going to be a lot of work, but I’m happy it’s going to eventually be exactly what I want.

5. Read 35 books. 4/35. I’m in the middle of five books, though.

6. KonMari my house. I’ve gotten rid of more stuff, but in no way is it the KonMari method.

7. Spend less time surfing on my phone and pay more attention to my kid. I am starting to think I will never excel at this. I really just need some mindless downtime. Though, Josh mentioned last night that he thinks I’m much, much better at this.

 

Leave a Reply

