August 2016 Goals Update

Oh man, I’m the worst.* This is my second post of the year? Really?? Well, let’s see where we are.

CRAFTY THINGS:

  • Knit a pair of socks. The sock cuff has grown. It’s actually rather sock-like!

sock progress

  • Knit a pair of mittens. Still in progress.
  • Get better at calligraphy. Haven’t done much here.
  • Do something creative for at least 30 min. a week. I think I’ve been okay at this one, but not as good as I’d like, and it’s seriously just 30 min/week. I’ve seriously got to carve out time for me, in a way that actually contributes to my happiness.

FOR ME:

  • Send 1 card/month. Nope.
  • Reduce procrastination and time spent on the internet. In general, I’m getting better, but definitely have to remind myself every now and then to read a book instead of staring at a screen.
  • Go to the Margaret Mitchell house. Nuh uh.
  • Go to Fernbank Museum. Negatory.
  • Go take photos in the country. Does the beach count?
  • Save $3,500. $2,250 so far. 64% of the way there. There was an auto-deposit in May that didn’t go through for whatever reason (I think that happens at some point every year?), so I just adjusted my auto-pay amount to make up for it.
  • Get credit card balances to zero—and keep them there. I’m at $5400 (urgh).  I got a rewards card to earn SkyMiles, but then I hate pulling money out of checking to cover it. Well, guess what? That money is already spent, and now I’m in debt. Given this, it turns out that I have to rely on the technology to work for me here, like I do for savings. I’ve paid off a big chunk over the past couple of weeks, and I’ll keep plugging away at it through not using the cards and then upping the auto-payment amounts. (82K SkyMiles, though. Time to go somewhere fun!)

* I maintain that 2016 is actually the worst, not me.

Leave a Reply

