2015 goals check-in

Goodbye, 2015. And good damned riddance. The last half of the year was fraught with family stuff, and work was ridiculous because I was the entirety of my department for most of the year. Here’s how my goals progress went down.

CRAFTY THINGS:

  • 10 projects. I made jewelry dishes and worked on some knitting. Um, that knitting is a single sock. The hell, me? I am learning pointed pen calligraphy, though, and I enjoy that.

PHYSICAL HEALTH:

  • Lose 40 lbs. Nope! As I mentioned last time, it’s hard to lose weight when you aren’t taking care of yourself.
    • Go to the gym twice a week. I did really well on this, actually. I went more often than I thought I would, and really only slacked off in December—I knew it would be nuts with end-of-year things, holidays and finding a new apartment.
    • Run a mile without stopping. Hit 120 lbs. on the lat pulldown. Hit 96 lbs. on the rowing machine. Scrapped ’em in favor of riding the bike in the gym. It’s much more enjoyable.

MENTAL HEALTH:

  • Reduce procrastination. I’m doing pretty well with this, I think, though I’m definitely writing this post in order to put off packing.
  • Send one card a month. Nope! I may just have a pile of still-unwritten Christmas cards on my desk as we speak. I definitely am learning calligraphy so I can send pretty mail, so hopefully I’ll do better about this next year.
  • Cut down on wasting time on the internet. Hard to measure, but I think I did pretty well on this.
  • Write two pages/day, two days/week. I actually found this to be kind of a burden. I think it helps, but not if I feel obligated to do it.

FINANCIAL HEALTH:

  • Finish paying off credit cards. I paid off the big balance transfer I did, and have charged about $2k more. That’s only 4.75% of my available credit limit, though, and I’ll be paying that off in 2015 ASAP. Again, automatic transfers are perfect for me.
  • Save $3000. Already done! I saved $3400, which has come in handy for this season of moving house. 😛
  • All in all, I’ve paid $13K on debt, savings and student loans. Pretty happy about that one!

TO DO:

  • Read 15 books this year. Done!
  • Go to four museums or Atlanta things. I went to Atlanta History Center and theMuseum of Design Atlanta. I also went to a craft fair and a festival, which weren’t exactly what I had in mind, but they were still fun. I’m calling it done!

All in all, my goals progress this year was a mixed bag. It’s not everything, and this isn’t how I define who I am, but I will say that I kicked ass at work this year. I just pulled together info for my review, and this year, I not only was the marketing department for most of the time, I pulled off a lot of things: website traffic is up 40% to 1.73 million visits, and the blog (my baby) accounts for three-quarters of that traffic. We’re writing on-brand, timely, informative posts that are SEO-friendly, so blog posts are hitting the front page of Google search within a day of being published. The blog has gotten 1.6 million pageviews this year, an increase of 81%. So yeah, I’m super proud of that.

I’m also proud that I learned a lot about advertising, strategic planning and the nuances of the different platforms we work on—I’m able to converse with our internal web teams on our projects and, say, the Android team about what’s new in their updated book with some authority.

And you know what? Screw just recapping progress on my goals. I did some great things this year. I had a lot of wonderful times with friends and family, I visited four beaches and got to pet a whole lot of dogs. I didn’t forget to look up and see the sunset.

2015 collage

One thought on “2015 goals check-in

  1. Pingback: 2016 goals | 2000 Miles

Leave a Reply

