December goals check-in

Have I seriously not written since January? I am the very worst about keeping up with the blog. If I call it a December check-in, then I’m technically early, right?

CRAFTY THINGS:

  • 10 projects. I made jewelry dishes and am learning pointed pen calligraphy. That’s definitely a project! (So far, I haven’t spilled ink all over the floor, so that’s awesome.)

PHYSICAL HEALTH:

  • Lose 40 lbs. Ha. Haha. Hahaha. Ugh.
    • Go to the gym twice a week. I’ve actually been pretty good about this! Aside from travelling or when I’ve been sick, I’ve made myself go. Woo gold star.
    • Run a mile without stopping. Hit 120 lbs. on the lat pulldown. Hit 96 lbs. on the rowing machine. I decided that I don’t care about these. I hate running, I know it, it was making me dread going to the gym, so I switched to riding the stationary bike. It doesn’t feel as awful and tough, so I feel like I’m not doing as much. I sweat a lot and I ride fast, so massive eyeroll to myself and my midwestern Puritan ideals there.

Basically, I need to eat better. I’ve let myself eat carbs even though giving them up is really the fastest, best way for me to lose weight. I do like lifting, and I’ve built some muscle. I just want to slim down so you can tell that.

MENTAL HEALTH:

  • Reduce procrastination. I think I’ve made progress here, even if it’s by virtue of simply having to plow through. I was the only person on my team for five months this year, and I may as well have been the rest of the team, thanks to offboarding/onboarding people.
  • Send one card a month. Argh. No. Didn’t do this either.
  • Cut down on wasting time on the internet. This has remained on my mind throughout the year, and I do think I’ve gotten better in general. I still check Facebook too much, but it’s usually a quick check.
  • Write two pages/day, two days/week. Oh yeah, I was going to do that. Man, 2015 has been hard and I haven’t been feeding my creative side. No wonder I haven’t lost weight, either.

FINANCIAL HEALTH:

  • Finish paying off credit cards. I’m so close! I paid off the card I transferred everything to, right on time, but I also charged $2k. I hate that, but it’s yet another reminder that auto payments are what I need in order to pay things off.
  • Save $3000. Already done!

TO DO:

  • Read 15 books this year. I read the Harry Potter and Sookie Stackhouse novels again, and that’s definitely gonna take care of it. I also finished James Herriot’s books and am a good way through The Warmth of Other Suns.
  • Go to four museums or Atlanta things. I went to Atlanta History Center and the Museum of Design Atlanta. Both trips were for work (weird, right?), but it counts! I’m also counting the craft fair I went to. Looks like I need to go to another museum!

So there’s some good progress, and some not so much progress. And while I’m a little twitchy that I’m not getting all the gold stars, it really is ok. I’ve had kind of tough year (I think I say that during this time every year) at work, and certainly a lot of family and friends have had a hard time this fall. I definitely see that having the accountability of this blog is important to helping me check things off the list!

2 thoughts on “December goals check-in

  1. Look! It’s a post from Tasha! You’re making huge headway on the financial stuff. And I’m glad to see you doing the ATL visits, which I think you had on your list last year too?

    • Seeing the sites in Atlanta has been something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. I’ve got a list of “someday” things to do, or sometimes save things for when people visit and never do them. My roommate and I are talking about going to see the Christmas lights at the Botanical Garden soon, though. I’ve never been, and it should be fun.

      Thanks for continuing to post, even though I haven’t been! I’m glad someone’s been loving on our blog. I’d miss it if it weren’t here.

Leave a Reply

