2015 goals

I love this introspective time of year, when things are quiet and calm and you get to assess all that you’ve done, and think carefully and thoughtfully about what you’d like to be. When else in the year do we stop to think about where our lives are going? Life is such a rush the rest of the year, but early in the year, you get to be calm and introspective.

CRAFTY THINGS:

  • 10 projects. I haven’t hit this goal in the last three years, but it’s still a good goal. I’m thinking that I’ll at least finish a pair of socks.

PHYSICAL HEALTH:

  • Lose 40 lbs. Ok, this is the year. I’ve put it off for the past several years, and now it’s time. I saw some photos lately that horrified me, but in all honesty, I think I’m pretty cute. I want to be healthy too. To this end, by the end of 2015, I want to be able to:
    • Go to the gym twice a week. 
    • Run a mile without stopping. I had some problems with running in early-mid 2014, with shin splints and doing something to the tendons on the top of my foot. Long story short, I did too much too soon. I got new shoes, and that’s helped a lot. Plus they’re pretty. Anyway, I’ve been running a couple times a week since October, but I haven’t really gotten any better at endurance (both in terms of stamina and in terms of enduring it!). I have gotten faster, though, and that’s pretty sweet.
    • Hit 120 lbs. on the lat pulldown. I’m at 72 lbs. now, and have already increased the weight I can lift. It’s sort of amazing to lift something that use to feel heavy and realize it feels light now. Being strong is awesome.
    • Hit 96 lbs. on the rowing machine. At 60 lbs. now. The plates on the machine at the gym are in increments of 12 lbs. for whatever reason, hence the weird numbers in my goals.

MENTAL HEALTH:

  • Reduce procrastination. Focusing on this in 2013 and 2014 definitely helped. It’s still something I need to be reminded of, so it’s on the list.
  • Send one card a month. I want to send a card a month to someone I love, just to say hey.
  • Cut down on wasting time on the internet. I’m so bad about this, and I don’t want to waste my life.
  • Write two pages/day, two days/week. A little less ambitious than last year, but still a great goal.
  • Declutter. This is tied into the financial stuff, but I spend too much money on impulse buys or shopping to make me feel better. I want to get rid of things! How many black eyeliner pencils does one person need? The answer: not seven.

FINANCIAL HEALTH:

  • Finish paying off credit cards. This is a slog, but I’m on track to finish paying off all my cards by the end of this year!
  • Save $3000. This should be easily doable with automatic payments.

TO DO:

  • Read 15 books this year. This was actually tough in 2014, but it’s a very worthy goal.
  • Go to four museums or Atlanta things. I might define this as visiting new restaurants, but I definitely want to keep exploring my city. This list from the Atlanta History Center is a great start.
2 thoughts on “2015 goals

  1. I LOVE projects. I also like your creativity, so I was happy to see this is still on your list. Eager to see what you make. Good list!

    • I love projects, too! I really don’t want to get so tapped out by work this year. (I know it’s going to happen, but maybe not quite so thoroughly?) I even joined a little knitting group at the office.

      The physical goals make it feel a lot longer, but they’re also very concrete, which I like. Please believe that if I hit the goal of running a mile without stopping just once, I’m considering it done forever. And there are lots of things to distract me from internetting!

Leave a Reply

