November and December 2014: Goals progress

1. Work out more. I’m still doing about 60K steps a week. Tracking food sometimes. I ordered fitness equipment for my office (balance balls and under the desk pedalers), and they’ll start into circulation in the new year. I’m happy about it.

2. Make one new recipe a month. In November, I made Leek and Potato soup in my slow cooker. And I made cranberry sauce from scratch for Thanksgiving. I made the soup again in December. I made two recipes in December that I don’t remember.

3. Make 10 projects. 7/10. I made a toddler felt Christmas tree (the one that everyone on Pinterest with a toddler is making). Thomas loved it. I also made a wearable blanket with feet for T to wear while we were in Ohio for Christmas. It’s definitely not my most professional-looking sewing (squiggly sewn lines for the zipper install, etc.). I should write a post just about it because it was great for him and really came in handy and was not as hard to make as you’d think.

UPDATE: It’s actually 8/10. I forgot that I made three finger puppets for Thomas to open on the plane on the way to Ohio. Not an intense project, but they did take me time, so they count. I truly do have to make a post/tutorial about them and upload my patterns so people could make them. They’re super simple.

4. Clothing budget. $399.44/$500. I bought nothing new in November. Or the early part of December. So I got to the last week and was all, “Hmmm, I should spend this extra $100 in my budget.” I ordered two pairs of pants, sweatpants and a dress/tunic from H&M for $66. I’m rolling my extra funds into 2015.

5. Fix/upcycle one clothing item a month. 6/12. In December, I used fabric paint to cover up grease stains I couldn’t get out on a T-shirt I love. It took five minutes, and I’ve already worn the shirt twice. If I remember, I’ll add a picture here someday.

6. Declutter. In December, I got rid of a dresser, bookcase and toy organizer that were in my garage that I didn’t want. Still have more to do. Always.

7. Read 52 books. 18/52. I don’t remember reading anything in November or December. I started a book on the plane back from Ohio after Christmas, but I didn’t finish it. This is my lowest year of reading yet.

My list this year:

The Secret in the Old Lace
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (yes, I’ve read this a million times. Still counts.)
The Monuments Men by Robert M. Edsel
Gods in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson
The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan
The Mark of the Midnight Manzanilla by Lauren Willig
The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown
Bossypants by Tina Fey
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Divergent (Divergent, #1) by Veronica Roth
Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline
Inferno (Robert Langdon, #4) by Dan Brown
The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, #4) by Rick Riordan

8. Home improvements. The refinancing is done, several small home projects are done and we bought a car. That’s about as good as these two really busy months could get on this.

9. Go on dates. No dates.

 

Completed:

Watch less TV.

Leave a Reply

