How I felt about 2014

I like to post-game the year of goals before I set my new ones.

Here’s my list, as a reminder:

1. Work out more. While I am walking more, I’m up 8 pounds from where I was at the start of the year. I gained all that weight from January through July as I struggled to meet a different goal with Thomas. And that’s fine. What’s not fine is that not one pound came off after I stopped eating so much and tried to up my activity. So, improvement needed.

2. Make one new recipe a month. I hit my recipe goal, and liked it. I’m not really sure I need the accountability, though. I cook a decent amount for a working mom (dinner most nights, at least 3 of 6 meals on the weekend — usually more). Forcing myself to try new recipes instead of sticking to the staples is probably a bit much. I could do with some more easy vegetarian crockpot meals, though.

3. Make 10 projects. I made 8 of my goal of 10. Also pretty good.

4. Clothing budget. I came in under budget. It’s made me think about how I might want to change this for 2015, and what being under budget means. Since I’d also never been under budget, I had to think about how I wanted to approach that development. I decided to carry over my balance.

5. Fix/upcycle one clothing item a month. I did half of this goal. I still have LOTS of stuff on my mending pile, but I also see what’s realistic for my life.

6. Declutter. This will be a constant thing my entire life, I’m sure. When I was home for Christmas, I saw just how much my upbringing is affecting both my mentality of keeping things and my want to streamline. It’s a struggle, but I’m going to get there. Maybe this year, even.

7. Read 52 books. I read 18. Obviously I’ve been too ambitious. My life is different than it used to be and I have more varied interests and do lots of other hobbies that take time. There’s only so much time in my day, and I need to do all the things that make me happy. So, I’ll be setting a more realistic number for this in 2015.

8. Home improvements. Getting a new roof and the small projects I did were great this year. I have a couple in mind that I’d like to tackel for 2015, but again, there’s only so much time.

9. Go on dates. We went on one. I’d like to think that since Thomas is older, we’d go on more. It’s honestly been a product of being way too effing tired to consider staying out late and a desire to spend time with him. We love him. We think he’s fun. That said, I think Josh and I could do a better job of each taking him on our own places and giving the other person a break, and having “home” dates. And occasionally going out. We do have several babysitters that are T’s teachers from daycare.

10. Watch less TV. Accomplished. I don’t have time for new things, though I did start watching a few series that premiered.

All in all, I liked the balance in life these goals gave me. But, I still ended the year a bit stressed and overworked and with a messy house — all things I dislike. I’m still crafting my 2015 goals in my mind, but I expect I’ll find ways to put less pressure on myself, focus on things I really care about and add in some self care.

Here’s to a new year!

One thought on “How I felt about 2014

Leave a Reply

