July 2014: Goals progress

1. Work out more. I’m up pounds in July — I think it’s mostly from drinking the leftover pop from T’s birthday party. I could be down again by now, though. Hard to tell. I don’t weigh myself on a regular basis.

2. Limit television. This has been the easiest goal to accomplish. I have so much else to do that it’s motivated me to just do that stuff instead.

3. Make one new recipe a month. We did a week’s sample menu of The Fresh 20. We’re probably going to subscribe, but I need to wait until something is slightly less busy in my life. For instance, not doing work at home every night. Or not having to wash as many bottles. Something.

4. Make 10 projects. I finished the party favors for T to take to school. And I made a kimono. I’ll post a picture of that soon.

5. Clothing budget.  $218/$500. I spent $44 on two pairs of pants and a dress.

6. Fix/upcycle one clothing item a month. 5/12. I mended a sweater of Josh’s. At least it’s off my pile!

7. Declutter. I need to do some more of this. We’re really going to start whittling our stuff down. I’m planning to take some pictures this week so we can put stuff on CL and Freecycle.

8. Read 52 books. 10/52. One new one in July.

My list this year:

The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Divergent (Divergent, #1) by Veronica Roth
Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline
Inferno (Robert Langdon, #4) by Dan Brown
The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, #4) by Rick Riordan

This obviously isn’t growing to 52 books this year. Still, even if I get to 15, I think that’s reasonable balance with everything else I do.

9. Home improvements. I have plans to touch up interior paint, paint a couple of ceilings and a couple other things. It might take me the rest of the year.

10. Go on dates. No dates.

Leave a Reply

