Stephanie’s 2014 goals

I pared down my list for 2013 because I was pregnant and then had an infant. Still have that baby, so I don’t want to overwhelm myself with goals TOO much, but there are some things I want to work on.

1. Work out more. I’m having trouble finding the time since returning to work. We start our company pedometer step challenge this month, so I’m going to really dive into that. I’d also like to work with Thomas to nap on his own after work so I could fit in short elliptical sessions (my goal is two per week). This goes hand-in-hand with losing the rest of the baby weight. I’m really not going to worry too much about that part until I’m done breastfeeding.

2. Limit television. I have a regular line-up of shows I DVR, but I often find myself randomly watching things while holding a sleeping baby. Shows I don’t need to be watching. I could read instead. So, I’ve like to pledge to watch only the shows I DVR and have two free hours of television during the week. After testing that out, I might limit some weekend viewing, too, but that involves Josh’s choices also. So we’ll see.

3. Make one new recipe a month. The past couple of years, I’ve set a goal for two new recipes a month. It’s worked out great, and I’ve loved trying new meals. But it’s getting harder with working full-time, so I’m cutting back. And I think I’m going to try to make MOST of these 12 recipes from my actual cookbooks in my kitchen. They’ve been collecting dust.

4. Make 10 projects. I really liked this one last year.

5. Clothing budget. I’m going back on the wagon. $500 for the year. Last year, even though I was off the budget, I still didn’t spend too much and thought a lot about what I was buying. It’ll be fun to track this again.

6. Fix/upcycle one clothing item a month. I have a box of items near my sewing machine that need work. Most are sweaters that just need buttons. I’d like to get to mending pile zero by the end of 2014. This goal won’t accomplish that, but it’s a step in the direction.

7. Declutter. We have so much stuff we’re not using and don’t need. I started working on this in 2013 while preparing for Thomas, but I’d really like to get to the point where the items we own are intentional and our closets aren’t stuffed with things we’re not using. Freecycle will help with this.

8. Read 52 books. I’m really going to try this year on this.

9. Home improvements. We’ve needed a new roof for a couple of years, so it’s time not to procrastinate on that and some other things, like landscaping in the backyard. We also might sod the backyard because growing grass back there isn’t going well.

10. Go on dates. Of course we haven’t been anywhere without the baby since he was born. Neither of us want to leave him. But I think going out just the two of us at least a couple of times this year would be good for all three of us.

One thought on “Stephanie’s 2014 goals

  1. Stretch goals! I like them. I vote that you need more than “a couple” dates, though. It’s good to reconnect with your partner! That baby needs to get a job, anyway.

Leave a Reply

