December check-in

CRAFTY THINGS:

  • 10 projects.
    • Made nail polishes
    • One baby sock
    • Turned a lip gloss into a pencil
    • Put bar tape on my bike (forgot about this one!)
    • Glittered my makeup jar

4.5/10 = 45%

So, I didn’t hit this one for the year, but like last year, I did do a lot of manicures and made some involved recipes like tomato sauce, etc. I feel ok with this one.

MONEY:

  • Pay down credit card #2. Another $452 (the total ended with a 2. It bothered me. Don’t judge.)

$5100 paid on this card this year. Only $1700 to go! And I finished paying off another card.

PHYSICAL HEALTH:

  • Drink 64 oz. of water a day. I’ve been better about this, now that I’ve got a Fitbit again. I’m definitely trying to keep track of this via the Fitbit app.
  • Drink less soda. Ayup.
  • Lose 45 lbs. Sooo, there’s always 2014. I did make some effort here: though I lost my Fitbit and so wasn’t tracking for months, I do know that I walked 476 miles in six months of 2013. That’s 20 miles a week!

MENTAL HEALTH:

  • Reduce procrastination. I think I did ok with this in December? It’s been such a crazy month that I don’t think I had the option!
  • Do one thing each month that makes my life easier. This month I enrolled in an FSA and also bought 1Password (Which I love. It’s expensive for an app, and they also make you pay for the iOS app, but it’s way better than any of the methods I was using to store my passwords.)
  • Connect with people more. I visited folks in Ohio, even Dad’s family.

DONE:

  • Save $2500. 

3300/2500 = 132% Woo! I’ve certainly achieved this goal this year, but it was originally only intended for my credit union account. I’ve managed to save another $5600 in my savings account. 356% achieved!

I’ve also completed these goals:

  • Pay off Kia car loan. 
  • Pay off one credit card.  
  • Budget/raise.
  • Read 20 books: 

American Terroir: Savoring the Flavors of Our Woods, Waters, and Fields by Rowan Jacobsen
Proceedings of the NAAL (freelance journal)
An Ethic of Queer Sex:Principles and Improvisations
 by Theodore Jennings
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter, #4) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter #3) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling
A Touch of Dead (Sookie Stackhouse short stories) by Charlaine Harris
Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse #13) by Charlaine Harris
Sin in the Second City by Karen Abbot
Deadlocked (Sookie Stackhouse #12) by Charlaine Harris
Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse #11) by Charlaine Harris
Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse #10) by Charlaine Harris
Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse #9) by Charlaine Harris
From Dead to Worse (Sookie Stackhouse #8) by Charlaine Harris
All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse #7) by Charlaine Harris
Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse #6) by Charlaine Harris
Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse #5) by Charlaine Harris
Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse #4) by Charlaine Harris
Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse #3) by Charlaine Harris
Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse #2) by Charlaine Harris
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine Harris
The Wordy Shipmates by Sarah Vowell
Feasting on Asphalt: The River Run by Alton Brown
The Poisoner’s Handbook: Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine in Jazz Age New York by Deborah Blum
The Man Who Ate Everything by Jeffrey Steingarten
Knitspeak: An A to Z Guide to the Language of Knitting Patterns by Andrea Berman Price
Circular Knitting Workshop: Essential Techniques to Master Knitting in the Round by Margaret Radcliffe

31/20 = 155%

  • Grow my hair out to ponytail length.
  • Go to a museum.  

So in 2013, I’ve done really well with these, particularly the tangible, countable goals that I can keep track of or automate. On to 2014!

Leave a Reply

