2013 goals: Wrapping up the year and December progress

1. Gain a max of 35 pounds/lose the baby weight.

December: 151 today. That’s still 6 pounds from goal weight.

2013: Well, I technically “failed” on both ends of the spectrum on this one. I gained 37 pounds and have lost 31. I’ve tended to obsess about my weight for, oh I don’t know, my entire life. And I haven’t really, during this year. Losing the weight was high on my priority list FOR SURE, but as soon as I figured out that cutting calories means a dip in my milk production? Forget it. I’ve got more important things to worry about. It feels good to acknowledge that.

2. Stockpile food.

December: I made “meat”loafs, calzones, pizza doughs, stuffed shells and falafel.

2013: I feel accomplished with this one. Josh and I have rarely ordered food this year — it’s more that we actually WANT to, rather than NEED to because we have no food to make. We’re both really pleased with this, and Josh wants to learn some of the regular things we make for the freezer so that he can make them too.

3. Make/do 10 projects. Done and done. I did 16 projects in 2013. I think my favorite has to be the diaper bag I made, but my wallet is a close second.

4. Read 52 books

December: Added two more books: David and Golaith by Malcolm Gladwell and 11/22/63 by Stephen King. And I started another. I missed reading.

2013: I read 21. The lightest reading year in a long time for me. Being well rested seems to be a requirement for me to absorb a book. I haven’t been well rested.

5. Make two new recipes each month.

December: I made this ravioli tomato soup (yummy!), lactation cookies (not super yummy, but necessary), and curry chickpeas.

2013: I made exactly 24 this year. After Thomas was born, I made a lot more new recipes than I did before. Though that doesn’t really make much sense…. it’s not like I had more time after he was born! Some of the recipes have definitely become staples: this peasant bread and this pizza crust are pretty much weekly favorites.

2 thoughts on “2013 goals: Wrapping up the year and December progress

  1. When planning your goals for 2013, you said, “If I’m wrapping up next December saying that Josh, baby and I are all happy, healthy, fed and sheltered, it’s going to be the best year ever.” I think you’ve achieved it! You’ve tried a lot of new food and meal planning, and certainly conquered a lot of projects — especially with having a baby. Nice work!

    • I’m feeling pretty good about 2013. The 2010s were off to a rocky start, but now I seem to be hitting a good stride and life balance!

Leave a Reply

