August 2013: Goals progress

1. Lose the baby weight by the end of the year (37 pounds, to return to 145). I’m at 153, so down another 3.4 pounds. I was cleared to exercise, but finding the time has been a bit of a challenge. My plan was always to take Thomas out on walks, but with temperatures near 100 ALL THE TIME, it’s a bit hot for him out there. Plus, he’s been clingy and only will let momma calm him down, so I’m stuck most of every day (and night) with a baby snuggled against me. I’ve taken to doing squats as I’m jiggling him to soothe him. So, we’ll see how September goes. I really only need to lose just more than 2 pounds each month to achieve this goal.

2. Stockpile food. I made progress on this, adding whenever I could. I made cheesy potatoes, veggie “meat”loafs, ricotta-stuffed pasta shells and broccoli quinoa casseroles. We also started making our egg sammies for daily breakfasts again (really clutch for me since they’re something I can eat with one hand). My plan for September is pizza and French bread doughs — two things that can really make a meal come together in a pinch, but that I don’t necessarily have the ability to make when it’s just me home with Thomas.

3. Make/do 10 projects. One and a half to add!

First, I made this nursing cover from Coterie. I had some green knit that I wasn’t doing anything with — and Thomas’ one-month appointment at the pediatrician made me realize that nursing in the waiting room under a receiving blanket is AWKWARD. Granted, nursing in public is awkward, period. But I could at least be a little more discreet. So, nursing cover. I’ll write a short post with a picture soon. There’s really not much to it! I’ve already used it a couple of times and felt much more comfortable about nursing in public.

Second, I’m making a card holder to organize the many gift, reward and other cards stuffed into my wallet. So stuffed that I’m having trouble closing it. I’m following this tutorial from Infarrantly Creative. I’ve been doing it in spurts, and I’m at the sewing stage now. It’s the hardest one to catch a few minutes to do because the sewing machine’s in another room. Hopefully with it being Labor Day (and Josh being home), I’ll be able to finish! Like a lot of my projects lately, this one is all from scraps… I’m still using up fabric from my window shades!

15.5/10 = 155%

Something that doesn’t count as a project, but is taking a chunk of time: I’ve been taking photos of all my clothes to add to my Stylebook app. Finding the time for this has also been challenging because it needs to be during the day for natural light, which means basically the weekend. I’m hoping to take TONS this weekend, and then I can edit them as I’m holding the baby all next week.

I also have a lot of other projects floating around my head that I want to get to… but even when Josh IS home on the weekend, finding the time away from the boy can be challenging. But, I’ll just keep plugging away as best I can! (The projects: I want to add appliques to some plain white onesies in the 6m size; sew baby bloomers; create a baby photo book on Shutterfly — I’ve gotten four credits for free 8″x8″ books from various baby things, and I think it’d be much easier than scrapbooking something; finish Shellacking the display shelves my dad made; organize my sewing room, specifically my fabrics, threads and sewing machine tables.)

4. Read 52 books. I read “The Happiest Baby on the Block” by Harvey Karp, M.D. Thomas got fussier in August, so it was an attempt to figure out how to alleviate that. He’s by no means a crier in the colic way… we don’t endure hours and hours of nonstop crying or anything. Just… fussiness. And a lot of bouncing/walking/shushing to calm him down. The ideas in the book helped a lot during the couple weeks when he was fussier than normal, and the techniques continue to work when nothing else is working. An old coworker of mine recommended it, and I’m so thankful.

16/52 = 30.7%

5. Make two new recipes each month. Josh and I realized the other day that we’ve only had a handful of meals from outside the house since Thomas was born. We both really enjoy that. We’d much rather eat at home (for the money savings now that I’m not working full time and because it’s healthier). That means I’ve been trying out new recipes.

Recipes I made:

Quick French Bread (While “quick” in relation to other French bread recipes I’ve tried, it still took more than an hour from start to finish, and made a pretty dense bread I like it, but I’m going to have to play around with it.)

Cheesy potatoes (This is a different recipe than I’ve ever tried before. It doesn’t call for cream of anything soup, which I really liked. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth.)

Chocolate chocolate chip cookies. (Josh has definitely been on more of a sweets kick… we’ve eaten lots of brownies and regular chocolate chip cookies, and we were ready for something new.)

Crockpot mac and cheese. (I didn’t love this. I omitted the egg… I don’t know if that’s why the cheese curdled some or the temperature wasn’t working or what. But, yeah. Didn’t love it. The better recipes I’ve seen call for way more cheese and/or lots of prep before it goes in the crockpot. So I might give up on crockpot versions of this.)

Pizza crust. (Josh pronounced this “tasty.” It has a bit of a yeast taste, and that’s what he really liked about it. This will be the recipe I’ll freeze. It stored well for a few days in the fridge and came together really easy… I whipped it up while wearing Thomas in the Moby wrap and then let it rise for a couple of hours until I could find the time to divide it and put it in quart bags for the fridge.)

In September, I’d like to try to make English muffins for our breakfast sammies… The cost differential is high on homemade versus store-bought for those. I’ve never made them before, so once I make a batch and we decide if we like the recipe, I’ll probably make enough for a month of sammies at a time. Don’t want to spend every week in the kitchen making them!

2 thoughts on “August 2013: Goals progress

    • It does seem productive when laid out like that! But most days I’m just struggling to cook dinner most days. By all accounts, babies become TONS easier after three months. As for socialization, I’ve started having weekly lunch with Neal again, been out for lunch with old coworkers and had friends come over and meet Thomas.

Leave a Reply

