Project 11: Crib sheets

20130527-134658.jpg

Now that I’m finished, I can’t fathom WHY I decided that making all the crib sheets for the baby was something I needed to do. The sheets I made cost similar to ones I’ve seen at Target ($9.99 there… I think mine were about $8.50 for the fabric and elastic). And if I’d bought them, I wouldn’t have had the time investment.

That said, I really like all the sheets I made. And they’ll last until our kid upgrades to a twin bed, around age 4 or so.

I followed this tutorial from Dana Made It. When I bought my fabric at JoAnn’s, the employee at the cutting table warned me that this method (elastic all the way around) hadn’t worked for her on a sheet she’d just made. So I was worried as I was making the first sheet. But they all fit perfect!

Here are all the fabrics I used:

20130528-174638.jpg

20130528-174704.jpg

2 thoughts on “Project 11: Crib sheets

  1. Aww, they’re fun! I thought you might be a leetle crazy, making your own sheets, but these are all your own. They aren’t too super-sweet or, you know, tiny baseballs or something.

    • Josh was not too happy about the laboratory fabric (the top one in the pictures) because of the skulls and such, but I like it. I think these sheets are going to be one of those quirky things the kid remembers from his childhood. My favorite is the bikes!

Leave a Reply

