Project 7: Rose ring

My wedding band and engagement ring are a bit snug. I wear a size 5.5 ring on my left ring finger… some days my rings fit fine, but most days anymore, they don’t. So I stopped wearing them because I’m a bit paranoid that they’re going to get stuck on my finger.

It’s weird not to wear any ring, though. I usually don’t take my rings off at all. So it’s a bit like my finger’s naked. My right ring finger is a size 7, and that’s too big for my swelled left finger. So I have no rings close to the right size.

I saw this tutorial awhile back for making a rose ring from wire. I’d pinned it and moved on, but going through my boards the other day, I thought, “Why not just make a ring to wear?”

I was at Michael’s picking up a picture from the framing department, and stopped by and picked out this wire:

20130514-115653.jpg

 

18-gauge wire (like the tutorial calls for) will be a little more stiff and thicker. There weren’t fun colors of wire that size, so I opted for the 20-gauge. It just means your wire’s a bit more pliable, which can be bad for holding its shape long term. However, I think it’s fine in this case.

I used a highlighter for size and otherwise followed the tutorial pretty exactly:

20130514-115705.jpg

20130514-115719.jpg

 

I like it!

One thought on “Project 7: Rose ring

Leave a Reply

