Project 4: Embroidery hoop earrings

I saw this pair of hoop earrings on a Haute Look sale:

Image courtesy of Haute Look

I really liked them, but I couldn’t imagine paying somewhere around $30 for them (the exact price eludes me). Plus, I don’t wear gold. At all. And there weren’t any silver options. I knew I had a pair of hoop earrings that would be perfect to DIY myself a pair, so I pinned the picture to my Pinterest account to remind myself later. Then, I decided to do the Pinterest Challenge, and I thought, “Here’s an easy project that I have everything for. Let’s add that to my list.”

Except when I went to do it one day, I could only find one of the hoops. One. Who knows where the other is? If it ever turns up, I’ll make myself another pair.

What’s a girl to do? I had to go to Walmart to buy a bathing suit top for Hawaii anyway, so I picked up a pair of hoops there:

20130410-133521.jpg

$3.88! Just my type of price. I picked a mid-sized pair of hoops. I already had embroidery thread at home. I used gradient floss for my friendship headphones last year, so that inspired me to use it again (versus a solid color) for this project. You can’t really tell from the photos, but the red goes from bright to kind of a wine/burgundy and back. It’s subtle. Plus, I really like red and it looks flattering on me, but I always feel so awkward wearing it. It’s SO bright and attention grabbing. For colors I feel that way about, I tend to stick to accessories.

20130410-133603.jpg

Wrapping each hoop took about 10 minutes. I started at the front of the earring with square knot, tying it so it was concealed behind the small, flat metal piece where the post connects (there’s probably a word for it, but I don’t know what it is). I trailed the tail in the inside of the earring and covered it as I wrapped. I tied it off with an overhand knot and sealed it with a dot of clear nail polish on the knot.

20130410-133612.jpg

You can see a bit of the color change in this photo.

One note: I imagine the thread will fray slightly with wear. I have LOTS of earrings, so I imagine it’ll take me about a year to see that happen because of my rotation of accessories. However, you could always remove the thread and redo the earrings when/if that happens. Or coat the earrings with clear polish completely when you make them. Or coat them with a colored polish when the thread starts to fray to make a completely new accessory.

Another note: I use my headphones all the time (and have actually sweated on them at hotel gyms when I forgot to bring my dedicated workout pair — so gross), and they’re still holding up really well and not fraying too bad.

2 thoughts on “Project 4: Embroidery hoop earrings

    • They’re definitely one of my favorite things I’ve made! I wasn’t too sure how it would go when I started, but it was so easy and they look pretty professional. I’d like to make 10 more pairs, but I think that would take away from the “specialness” of them.

Leave a Reply

