A homemade dinner

It’s my first week not working. I’m not sure how long it will last. I’ve had a few referrals for freelance work, so I think that my relaxation will end in the next couple of weeks.

In the meantime, though, I find myself filling my time with what I enjoy. Josh often says that my family (meaning my father and myself) will take two hours extra of our time to do something if it saves us a quarter. For instance, my dad makes his own cornbread for the base of his cornbread stuffing.

Wednesday’s dinner was kind of on this principal:

20130307-171431.jpg

 

That’s falafel with tzatziki and pita.

Everything in the picture except the lettuce is homemade. Including the yogurt I used as the base for the tzatziki. I made it in a crockpot overnight and strained it yesterday to thicken it up to Greek status.

All the recipes came from Budget Bytes. Honestly, I just really love the site. It was the best/worst day when Tasha introduced me.

Tzatziki

Pitas

Falafel

Again, I felt this combo was a bit bland. A dash more of salt made me happier… Josh thinks the massive amounts of water I’m drinking every day are making me crave more sodium than usual. It was also SO garlicky. I’d probably work on adjusting that in the future.

4 thoughts on “A homemade dinner

  1. You’re so fancy! I feel another falafel kick coming on at our house. (And yeah, we always cut down on the garlic in her recipes, but up the spices.)

  2. I do feel rather fancy. I’d feel fancier if all my pitas had puffed like they were supposed to… I think my oven has hot spots. Next time! I found pita bread WAY easier than making naan. So easy that I think I’ll probably make all my pitas from now on.

  3. Pingback: March 2013: Goals progress | 2000 Miles

Leave a Reply

