2013 goals

Since I liked doing 2012 goals and posting about them so much, I thought I’d try it again this year. I think that having the blog as a reminder, and being accountable for things every month, has made me more mindful. I’m mixing it up a little in 2013, but keeping some of the same ones.

  • Crafty things:
    • 10 crafty projects (knitting, art, crochet, what have you), possibly including:
      • Knit a sweater. (I’m knitting myself a sweater only if I lose weight, though).
      • Sew a quilt.
      • Crochet 10 more of those damned hexagons for the blanket.
      • Knit a pair of socks. And I’m totally counting each sock as its own project (socks seem hard!).
      • Knit from my stash. Let’s go for buying, say, only 10 skeins this year. (Eep! I’m asking for yarn for my birthday.)
  • Money:
    • Save $2500.
    • Pay off Kia car loan. (Yes, really.)
    • Pay off one credit card. I don’t care if it’s the one that has an $800 balance. I need to reduce my debt.
    • Which means: I have to make and stick to a budget. Which is a huuuuuge goal in and of itself.
    • And/or: get a raise.
  • Physical health:
    • Drink 64 oz. of water a day.
    • Drink less soda.
    • Lose 40 45 lbs. Holy crap.
      • Does this mean cutting out carbs again, or something like Weight Watchers?
      • It probably means having healthy, quick foods on hand more often, so I’m not tempted to have quick things that are terrible for me.
      • I *know* I need to exercise more. I’d like to be stronger anyway. Good thing I’m walking to Mordor!
  • Mental health:
    • Reduce procrastination. I need to be Getting Things Done at work, as well as in my personal goals. This means things like touching an email only once (i.e., handling things right then), and learning to somehow get better at tackling stuff I don’t want to do, or that seems hard. I dunno how I’ll measure this, but it will be good to see it on this list every month.
    • Do one thing each month that makes my life easier. This has been a great thing in the last year, and if it dovetails with the above goal, even better!
    • Read 20 books.
    • List my 3/3/3 daily. This will be more like “list my 3 things I’m grateful for daily,” and that’s ok.
    • Connect with people more. Again, a great thing from 2012, and I like letting people know I’m thinking of them!
  • Other things:
    • Go to a museum.
    • Grow my hair out to ponytail length. This is a maybe, and I reserve the right to chop all my hair off at any moment I feel like it!

Who’s ready for an awesome 2013?

One thought on “2013 goals

  1. Pingback: When being competitive is a good thing | 2000 Miles

Leave a Reply

