July: Goals progress

Wow, I feel like this year is going waaaaaaaay too fast.

Complete five (big) home projects.

1/5

You know what? I’m not sure I’m doing anything else with this goal for the rest of the year. I’m just. not. sure.

Garden: On hold until fall.

Read 75 books.

22 / 75

29%

I’m now 22 books behind. Goodreads sometimes makes me feel terrible about this goal. I think I’ve read less so far this year than any year since, like, I was in college. I think I pretty much have to face the fact that I’m not reading 75 books this year. If I get to 50, I’ll be content. Maybe.

Lose 10 13 pounds: In May, I weighed 148 (actually a bit more, and I rounded the fraction of a pound down. Cause I can). I ended May at 145.6. Goal weight is 135. As of the end of June, I was at 142.6. I went to Puerto Rico (and was sick the entire time, so don’t come to me with “how is PR?” because I have no idea), and came back 144.6. Now, I’m at 143.8. I did P90x for about a week and a half and then…. I just got so exhausted. Like bone tired, come home and want to take a nap. One thing I’ve really learned this year is that health is precious. My back is amazingly better after five months (yes, MONTHS) of chiropractic treatment, but some days I just can’t do it. So I took some time off when I got back from PR because I was sick. Then I did a week and a half of workouts. Then I didn’t work out, but I tried to up my daily activity to compensate some. Whatever. I signed up for a 5K in October with the husband, so I’ll start training for that this week. We’ll see what happens.

Crochet five projects: No hat for my friend. I’m mean and lazy. I’m apparently not going to do this goal either.

Make two new recipes each month: Meh. July’s been hard, yo. I’m planning some recipes for August… and I need to find a breakfast alternative because I’m sick of egg sandwiches.

Teach Josh to cook: Still suspended.

Stockpile food. (and Use my pantry.): No stockpiling in July. However, I already did some in August, so I’ll have something to contribute here next month.

Make clothes.
$268.46 / $500

53.7%

I bought two maxi dresses in July. I’ve already worn them both. I put a new hem on a pair of shorts for vaca and I wore and took a ton of clothes to Puerto Rico that I owned and hadn’t worn before.

When we got back, I cleaned out my closet. I separated out clothing that I should sell (haven’t done it yet) and stuff to give to Goodwill. I gave some of my nicer/trendier stuff to a friend’s 19-year-old daughter who’s about the same size as me. Hopefully she likes it and wears it more than I did! I feel good about the stuff I’m getting rid of, but MAN are there still a lot of clothes in my closet.

Do one thing each month that will simplify my life: I had a friend from home come and visit in July and I hired a cleaning service to scrub the house up in preparation. However, they didn’t really meet my standards. I’m not hiring them again. But it did make for less cleaning.

Social commitments: I’ve been down to about one a week. Which has been good because I’m still SO tired.

My main goal for the month of August? Catch a bunny that an unfeeling neighbor decided to let go in the neighborhood. He’s elusive. I’ve named him Oscar Wilde.

3 thoughts on “July: Goals progress

  1. Oscar Wilde the bunny! Maybe he will tell you about his many escapades. What’s your plan for him once you catch him?

    And seriously, you’re being *so hard* on yourself. Fractions of a pound? Crazy talk. And while being tired isn’t fun, recognizing that you are, and then being kind to yourself, is a great thing. Probably also a sign of maturity.

    Honestly, if I come out of this experiment and the only thing I’ve learned is to accept that I don’t have to hold myself to some crazy standard (_that I made up for myself_), then that will be an amazing thing.

  2. If I don’t catch Oscar Wilde, I might just make up stories and write a kid’s book. And donate the proceeds to bunny rescues. Well, maybe not all the proceeds.

    And I promise, I’m not actually being that hard on me. I feel like I tell you this every month. My scale measures fractions of a pound, so it just makes it easier to report it that way.

    Funny, as I was writing this post, I was thinking how I expect WAY too much of myself. Sure, I could read 75 books. But I can’t read 75 books, crochet five projects, do five big home projects, make clothes AND work out enough to quickly lose 10 pounds. I can’t do ALL the things ALL the time.

Leave a Reply

