May: Goals progress

I’m starting to think I set too many goals for 2012. Was I overly ambitious? Or did I just not take into account the complexities of life that might stand in my way? If I hadn’t been in a car accident, would I be in better shape on some of these goals?

These are the questions I’ve been thinking about as I write these progress posts. I feel like I have no good posts to share in the meantime because I don’t feel like I’m accomplishing much. But I am! I need to be better about blogging what I do accomplish and not caring about what I don’t. If I do nothing else this year other than what I’ve already done, I think I’m fine.

Complete five (big) home projects.

0%

I still haven’t posted my mirror, but I’ve decided it’s not working for me, so I’m going back to the beginning. I think I’m going to attach it with mirror clips and do some other decoration.

HOWEVER, I did snag a couple of logs in May, so the log side tables for the living room will be a reality!

Garden.

It’s hot, hot, hot here. I’m definitely waiting for the fall growing season. Sorry, garden. I don’t know what I’m doing with my yard, but I could definitely stand some pruning of my backyard roses. They are out of control. Actually, all the roses need pruned. I need a gardener.

Read 75 books.

19 / 75

25%

I’m now 11 books behind. I didn’t listen to any books in my car during my commute in April, and that hurt me.

Lose 10 13 pounds.

I set myself a goal of losing 5 of the 13 pounds in May. I lost 2. I’m still battling energy issues from the accident. ALSO, it’s freaking May and that accident was in February. My back needs to stop hurting and everything else needs to get better. I’ve definitely been craving sugar, and I think it’s for the energy boost I’d get. Must. keep. resisting. 11 pounds to go!

Crochet five projects.

I found a tam pattern AND a beret pattern I like. I just haven’t started. But I would like to make a hat for my friend who’s moving to NY in July, so I’ll have to get on it.

Make two new recipes each month.

I made three new recipes in May:

Cheesy Quinoa Mac & Cheese
Easy Pad Thai
Perfect Veggie Burger

I made the pad thai with tofu shirataki noodles and it was quite delicious. I’d add tofu and omit the peanuts the next time. And half the brown sugar.

Teach Josh to cook.

Josh is on a low-carb kick right now. Since I’m a vegetarian and he’s not, that means we’ve gone our separate ways on food for May. I think he’ll dial back in June and he’ll be back to cooking some things, but we’ll see.

Stockpile food. (and Use my pantry.)

I made the Perfect Veggie Burgers as a freezer addition. I ate one for dinner before they made it in there, though. What was great about these was I actually had every ingredient for the recipe (except parsley, which I just omitted). I used up the almonds and sunflower seeds (and then ran out and bought more because I’m planning on making these burgers quite a bit).

I also put 16 bean & cheese burritos into the freezer. I’ve been eating them with salad for dinners and with carrots for lunch at work. This has been really great for me. I just used vegetarian refried beans and low fat cheese for the filling. Simple, but better that the prepackaged stuff at the grocery store.

Make clothes.
$207.91 / $500

41.6%

I returned the blazer, but I bought a silk tee dress, a maxi skirt and a long sleeved top. Total: $46.53. While I’m in Minnesota in June, I’ll be taking ownership of my mom’s serger. That’ll make it easier to make knit clothes — maxi skirts and dresses, tees, etc. I also have a skirt planned for myself (and one for Tasha if she gets around to sending me measurements). I’m making mine from red pinstriped suiting and Tasha’s from black pinstriped suiting.

Do one thing each month that will simplify my life: When I transferred my books from my old Kindle to my new one, I organized them into categories so I can find them easier. It took me about an hour, but it’s easier to do now than when I’ve downloaded a ton of books. (And automatically putting new books into collections will keep me organized… that feature didn’t exist when I first starting Kindling.)

Social commitments: I’m trying to only do social commitments that revolve around activities so I won’t eat fattening, terrible food AND I’ll get a workout in. But I’m sticking to the max-two-a-week plan.

5 thoughts on “May: Goals progress

  1. I liked the broccoli quinoa casserole from last month better, tbh. They’re actually very similar recipes. The veggie burgers are AMAZING! They’re vegan, and flax “eggs” as a binder actually seems a million times more sturdy than eggs. I’ll probably experiment with this recipe for some variations. Josh didn’t love the carrots, so I’ll probably try with zucchini the next time.

  2. Yeah, I don’t think I’d like the carrots either. Too sweet. Did you know that you can make DIY hair gel with soaked flax seeds? It’s basically the same thing you’re doing with the veggie burgers — it’s a binder.

  3. Too sweet’s what he said too! You and he love the salty. I don’t know that I’d want to put flax in my hair… I wonder if it would rot or anything? smell? maybe I should try it. This is with the flax meal. Do you think flax meal would work?

  4. The longer you do low-carb, the more you notice the natural sweetness in things. Carrots in savory things are weird notes of sweetness to me now.

    The gel is made from flax seeds, so maybe not so much on flax meal gel.

Leave a Reply

