Sparkly matte nails

This manicure is from, oh, February, but I still wanted to share it. I started out with a red manicure.

Don’t you hate how red polish makes your cuticles look scary?

This is my basic fall red/burgundy polish, which I’ve bought in many iterations over the years. Thanks, 1994! You’ve given me inspiration for many autumn manicures.

The problem with this particular brand, though, is that it chips quickly, so I decided to add layers to see how long I could play out the original polish. First I tried Kleancolor’s Chunky Holo Black:

I’m still working on taking mani pics that don’t make my hands look strange.

Chunky Holo Black is one of my favorites, though I do with the jelly base was clear. When I bought it, I assumed that the flakies were black, not the base (though it’s really more of a smoky grey.). After ruining some brighter manicures, I’ve found that this polish is best over dark polishes — it was not cute over teal or tomato red.

And as you can see, I had some tip wear with the Chunky Holo Black, so I decided to go over it with the matte top coat that someone was so kind to gift me for my birthday:

I really like how flakies and glitter look under matte top coats! And watching the top coat turn from clear to frosted is really kind of neat. I might be easily entertained, but it’s got the same sort of magic that crackle top coat does.

What I don’t like is how long nail polish takes to dry when you don’t use a fast-drying top coat. I am a huge fan of Seche Vite and its 3-minute drying time, so using regular top coats is awful. I don’t do well with just sitting and not using my hands, and I’ve ruined several matte manis because I totally forgot that the polish still wasn’t dry after 15 minutes.

This manicure stuck around for a while, though, because I finally remembered to wrap my tips with polish and top coat.

I didn’t take into account is the fact that you don’t have to wrap every coat; look how thick those tips are!

One thought on “Sparkly matte nails

  1. Ooooo, I might have to try glitter under matte now (since I have the same top coat and all). Also, peeps out there: this Sephora by OPI matte top coat is better wearing than some of the more expensive ones I’ve tried.

Leave a Reply

