April goals check-in

  • Lose 40 lbs. Blergh, y’all. I’m at the same weight, but hope that my improved water consumption will help. I also logged a workout yesterday, so that’s good. I’m thinking about moving this goal elsewhere on my list so I’m not starting with a negative in every month’s followup post!
  • Knit from my stash. I used three full skeins and portions of two others in April, and bought one. I might need to think about the size of the skeins, because those partial skeins are 8 oz., and the one I bought is only 100 grams.

Overall: – 3 skeins, +1. Total: -2.

  • Knit a sweater.
  • Crochet a bedspread. We’re down to 10 hexagons, y’all. I decided that another needed to go b/c I used yarn with the wrong color value. I’ve got a shopping cart at Knitpicks full of yarn for it, but I really don’t want to pull the trigger yet.
  • Knit or crochet 10 projects. April’s blanket was a huuuuge project! Jen told me they’ve already hung it on their rocking chair.

1/10 = 10%

  • Sew a quilt.
  • Do one thing each month that will simplify my life. I added heat-blocking film to my bedroom windows and got the freon in the central air unit recharged. Life is so much better! I was able to work out in my bedroom and didn’t die!
  • Read 25 books this year. One more!

10/25 = 40%! Turns out, there might be something to this whole setting goals business.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close made me cryyyyyy. On the balcony. It’s about 9/11 in a lot of ways. I thought I was no longer affected by overwrought references to that event, but the images got me. It’s also about people who hurt each other needlessly and without meaning to, and old people and man. On the other hand, I really like what the author did with the typography to convey emotion.

  • List my 3/3/3 daily. Yep! Sometimes I add some nice stuff about myself too. Mini therapy!

Mushier goals (these are things I want to do, but don’t want to attach measurements to):

  • Drink more water. I added an app on my phone that allows me to track my water consumption. I’m counting sugar-free fruit punch because it’s basically water with color. But I’m actually drinking real water!

Overall, I drank my goal of 8 cups of water on 11 days in April, and got pretty close (6+ cups) on 5 other days. Progress!

  • Stop drinking soda. I’m gonna guess I had 10ish? Not terrible!
  • Connect with people more. Y’all. I kicked down this month. I called my gramma and my dad and my sister, and I emailed mom and a bunch of other folks to say hey. I even mailed a birthday card ON TIME.

    And if we call sending out applications a means of contact, I’ve done really well there, too: I sent out 31 applications in  April. Now if I could just hear something positive back, that would be great!

Overall, I’m giving myself a big ol’ gold star this month.

One thought on “April goals check-in

Leave a Reply

