March: Goals progress

Complete five (big) home projects.

    20%

Today’s project: finishing a stand for a full length mirror. While I wouldn’t necessarily classify it as “big,” having a full length mirror in my bedroom is a big deal and clears a large portion of my garage. Watch for the completed project post soon.

Garden.

I’ve been raking up the dead grass and weeds in my yard to prepare for seeding it. I’d love to till it up, but I’m just not sure where my sprinkler lines are. None of my tomatoes or peppers are growing. If I don’t get plants in the ground in April, I can kiss garden aspirations goodbye until fall because I’ll have missed the growing season. That might be OK, though, because this is a much bigger project than I first anticipated it being, and it might be good to have the summer to work on it.

Read 75 books.

12 / 75

    16%

I’m six books behind now, Goodreads. Take that.

Here’s what I’ve read during the first quarter:

1. Georgiana Darcy’s Diary: Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice Continued by Anna Elliott
2. The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides
3. Ivy and Intrigue: A Very Selwick Christmas by Lauren Willig
4. The Virgin’s Lover by Philippa Gregory
5. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
6. Below Stairs: The Classic Kitchen Maid’s Memoir by Margaret Powell
7. The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig
8. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender
9. Out of Oz by Gregory Maguire
10. Saving Fish From Drowning by Amy Tan
11. The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta
12. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer

Lose 10 13 pounds.

I’ve gained some mobility and energy this month, so I think I’m going to be able to get on track with this. I’ve been doing yoga once a week, stretching everyday and going on short walks during work. I also decided that eating better would go a long way toward making this goal a reality (sorry, Easter candy). I’m tracking my calories better and employing my mother’s “drink a glass of water and we’ll talk about it in 20 minutes” method of starvation. I gained another pound during March, but I’m injured, and recovery is my first priority. Hopefully, I’ll get a little more energy in April and be able to work out more.

Crochet five projects.

Failure to launch. Still. Double sigh.

Make two new recipes each month.

    25%

I made Oatmeal Muffins from this recipe I saw on Pinterest. I added dried cherries, dried blueberries and almonds to mine. I also made lentil and black bean soup with soy chorizo (subbed for andouille sausage) following this recipe. Both are winners.

Teach Josh to cook.

Josh has been helping me prep a little. But he identified the need for expanding his skills and expressed a desire. I suggested perhaps we take a cooking class together. He probably just needs practice, though. Snail’s pace.

Stockpile food. (and Use my pantry.)

Stockpiling: 0.

This month I wanted to make my own version of Near East Toasted Pine Nut Couscous, make freezer burritos, put down some chili and split pea soup, make some meatless meatballs and do some bread doughs. I didn’t do any of that. However, I did make quinoa patties again, so I’m slowly using up that quinoa. I actually might have to buy more soon.

Make clothes.
$70.63 / $500

    14.1%

I made a skirt in March from some fabric I had lying around. (Post coming soon.) And a scarf from the skirt remnant.

I spent $12.98 on a plain black skirt from Target–birthday present to myself!–but I’m still well below my budget.

In April, I want to alter some dress pants I don’t really wear (too flared), shorten a maxi dress I’ve only worn once and fix a hole in a cuff of a shirt I have.

Do one thing each month that will simplify my life: I organized my bathroom. Again. Having a messy bathroom counters is a constant with me that I’d like to work on. Next month, I’d like to organize my fridge like this.

Composting: It’s becoming a regular habit and Josh has even taken to composting the coffee grounds from his K-cups.

Social commitments: I had a couple slips in March, but they were all because I’d been putting people off because I was exhausted (two weeks I had none, two weeks I had three–including yoga).

Organize my clothes: Organized a bit again. I’m working on keeping up with this.

3 thoughts on “March: Goals progress

  1. I liked it. But then, I’ve yet to read an Amy Tan book that wasn’t well written. And she read the audio book, which makes it a bit lovelier. I can add the audiobook to all the things I must mail you if you’d like. I’m actually thinking that I might try to (shock!) mail it soon.

Leave a Reply

