Math is a cruel mistress.

So I’ve been doing a lot of math lately. And as always, it’s no good. Bills, percentage rates, how millions of hexagons I need to make for my afghan.

Y’all. Look upon this math and despair:

A queen-size bed = 60″ x 80″

A queen-size comforter = 72″ x 80″ (6″ of overhang on either side left and right; 0″ added length because I don’t want to cover pillows with it)

The hexagons are 4.5″ x 4″

= 16 hexagons across, 20 long

= 320 hexagons

= I might need to buy more yarn

I have… 12 hexagons.

Senior picture time again!

I timed the last hexagon I crocheted, and it took me an hour. AN HOUR. 308 hours to go? That’s 38.5 8-hour workdays, plus the time for finishing the border and weaving in ends. I’m sure I’ll get faster as I continue and figure out quicker methods, but this is so not going to get done this year.

It’s going to look so good when it’s done, though!

4 thoughts on “Math is a cruel mistress.

  1. I can do 10% (hint: move the decimal point one space to the left. ta-da!)

    320 is a lot of hexagons. But look at what a pretty start you’re off to! I feel like this blanket would count as all your projects if you finish it this year.

  2. Mom taught me the 10% trick! You’d be surprised by how many people this confounds. When they get all, “I don’t know how to figure out a tip!” I have to struggle to control my “Whut.” face.

    I’m glad the votes are to keep on crocheting! I was feeling a little overwhelmed. I have a full cart at knitpicks.com, but y’know, the job thing. It’s taking me so long to make the hexagons, so I’m sure it will be a good while before I need to buy more.

    I did see that some people do the first several rounds of many many hexagons, and then just have a marathon joining session with the final rounds. That might be what I do in the future. The blanket is already getting heavy/unwieldy!

  3. Pingback: February goals check-in « 2000 Miles

Leave a Reply

