Painted coffee table

I needed a coffee table in my living room (not to be confused with my family room, where are TV is). I actually needed a lot of furniture for my living room a year ago. I only had a dining room table when we moved in — no chairs! — so this room is coming along nicely.

I turned a friend of mine onto my scavenging ways (“ooo! a table by the side of the road!”) and she’d picked up this one. Then, her husband found a chest/trunk item on the side of the road that they’d decided they liked better for their space and I was on the winning end of that because I got this table.

image

It had some damage on the top (see below) and some wobbly legs.

image

I tightened the legs and primed and painted it. I used two cans of Killz spray primer and three cans of the green spray paint. I thought about glazing it, but I’ve decided no for now. If I ultimately decide against glazing for good, I’ll seal this paint job with varnish. (I recommend that for surfaces you’re going to use a lot.)

image

image

Ta-da! It goes quite well with my gray loveseat.

image

*this doesn’t count as a 2012 home project because I finished this in October and just have been lazy about taking a finished shot so I could post it. Sigh. Still five projects to go in 2012!

6 thoughts on “Painted coffee table

  1. Fun! I vote or no glazing, but if you must do it, maybe do it just on the legs, with a brown? I think it’d just make the top look dirty. Is this the room that needs a chair color vote?

  2. Funny! You were the one who originally said to glaze! While I think it’d make some of the detail look nice, I don’t really want to go down that road to crazy glazing town.

    This IS the room that needs a chair color vote. I’ll be posting more pictures in the next few days.

  3. Pingback: Updated project list | 2000 Miles

  4. Pingback: September 2014: Goals progress | 2000 Miles

Leave a Reply

