Friendship headphones

I saw this awesome pin on Pinterest the other day of headphones that had been wrapped like a friendship bracelet. It doesn’t actually link to a tutorial about how to do it, though. It links to a blog post that links to a site about how to do a friendship necklace.

So, I decided I was going to make these awesome headphones because, well, Josh was taking a nap and I didn’t want to clean.

Time: About 3 hours if you’re really slow.

Materials: Two skeins (??) of embroidery floss

I used the floss pictured below because it’s gradient color schemes and I like that. (I also have solids, but meh.)

image

I started at the plug of my headphones where I just made a simple square knot, which I later covered with clear nail polish so it wouldn’t unravel or fray.

image

I didn’t take a picture of it, but when I came to the junction wear it splits for the earbuds, I just divide my floss (it’s six strands, so divide into three each). I unwound my second skein of floss and cut it in half. I tied each half to a divided side of my floss. I used a square knot again, but looking back, I think an overhand knot would have been better. Then, I just started knotting the same way up to the earbuds, tied off, trimmed the hanging threads and covered the knots in clear nail polish!

Finished:

image

2 thoughts on “Friendship headphones

  1. Pingback: Project 4: Embroidery hoop earrings | 2000 Miles

Leave a Reply

