Teacup Succulents

image

image

I saw this brilliant idea for putting succulents in teacups. I pinned it on Pinterest. (You can find me here on the site.)

It appealed to me for a few reasons: 1) I am a stacker. If I have a blank surface, I will stack papers and junk mail and you-name-it on it. The top of my entertainment center has this issue and it annoys me. This was my solution. 2) Succulents are hardy. It’s difficult to kill them, and so they might survive my brown thumb. 3) I get sad when I see all the pretty printed china pieces that people no longer like/care about. It makes me feel like an era of life has died.

I bought these tiny succulents at Home Depot for $1.50 each. Add some river pebbles, china from Goodwill and potting soil, and the total cost was about $25. I broke up the succulents into mixed arrangements in my small “pots.”

image

A little river rock around them and ta-da!

image

Unfortunately, my brown thumb DID get to most of these succulents. (Verdict: overwatering.) Two have survived and I’m trying to BARELY water them in hopes that they’ll make it. I really did love this project, though, so I’ll have to go back to Home Depot and get more or steal cuttings from my neighbors for a cheaper alternative.

2 thoughts on “Teacup Succulents

  1. I tend to be able to keep plants outside alive. Mostly. But I’ve killed every houseplant I’ve ever owned. Including cacti and spider plants, which are supposed to be really hardy.

Leave a Reply

