The feather nail

image

(Backstory in case anyone other than Tasha or I read this blog: From July 2010 to December 2011, I worked as an editor at a trade magazine for nail technicians.)

Normally, you need to have acrylic nails or gel nails to be able to have embellishments on your nails. However, I talked to a tech about a technique she was using for adding feathers to straight polished nails for Fashion Week in September 2011.

I bought craft feathers at Michael’s. Just the plain ol’ $3 pack. I bought the dyed, brightly colored ones, but the natural would look good too. I separated the feathers by size. (I ended up making earrings out of the bigger ones… I’ll have to find them and post.)

So, you want to know how to do this?

1. Apply a “sticky” base coat. CND’s Stickey Base Coat is by far the best base I’ve ever used. Right now, I’m using a similarly formulated one from a salon. It’s not bad, either.

2. Two coats of color of your choice, drying between each coat. When I did this nail, I was very into wearing different shades of the same color — the whole ombre trend influence, I guess.

3. Let your nails dry completely. This is really important. Don’t skimp and try to move on.

4. Lay the feather on your nail, and use top coat (I prefer Seche Vite or Orly Polishield 3-in-1) to “glue” it to your nail. Really saturate it. Let that dry completely. Trim any of your feather that’s hanging over the side of your nail with small scissors.

5. Add two to three more layers of top coat to your nails (to make it smooth to the touch when it’s dry).

Tips: You want to stick it down with lots of top coat to prevent air bubbles later. Brush it on from the inside of the feather out to make it have a better feathered look.

Leave a Reply

