2012 Goals

For some reason, I’ve always hated the idea of New Year’s resolutions. To me, it seemed a little like deciding that you’re going to be a different person. For a while, anyway. Until you start thinking, “You know, I hate going to the gym anyway and I’ll just work out at home except there’s this movie I want to watch and I’ll exercise later…”

And so many resolutions are strictly about weight loss and working out. While those are admirable goals, I think that making them your sole resolutions is a sort of magical thinking, like that New You is just going to looove having carrots for dinner and going to spin class all of a sudden, when the Real You, the one you’ve been all your life, knows that taking a walk and then ordering delivery is much more your speed.

But last year a strange thing happened, something I emailed you about: I made a New Year’s decision. Again, not a resolution, but a decision to latch onto what is happy and good and positive. I don’t know how much I stuck to it, but to be honest, I like the idea of having guiding goals in my life, so these are my goals for 2012:

  • Lose 40 lbs. Yep, even after saying all that, I do need to lose weight. I’ve done it before and I can do it again. To lose 40 lbs over 12 months, I need to lose only a little more than 3 lbs/month. That’s totally doable. If I stop eating pizza and tacos. Delicious, delicious pizza and tacos.
  • Knit from my stash. I have lots of yarn. I need to use it and stop being distracted by shiny new things. I have a ton of projects in my Ravelry queue, but I need to find projects to fit the yarn, rather than the other way around. I’m imagining, at most, a 1:1 ratio — I have to use a ball of yarn before I can buy a new one.
  • Knit a sweater. Specifically, the Oatmeal Pullover. Thankfully, I already have the yarn for this one, though I’ve been tempted to use it for felted slippers. I plan to knit this for the size I am when I’m at my ideal weight.
  • Crochet a bedspread. This one might be a pipe dream, but I started my hexagon blanket in 2010. I want to finish this thing before I’m, say, 35. (Uh. That’s new: 35 is now in the range of ages I can actually imagine applying to me. Being 30 is weird.)
  • Knit or crochet 10 projects. This suddenly seems like a lot, once I factor in the sweater and/or bedspread. Those might count for multiple points. Like all 10.
  • Sew a quilt. A small one. For a baby. Everyone in the world is pregnant right now, so this would be a good gift to have on hand. I’m imagining something simple, with straight lines and probably hand-tying rather than machine quilting, to save time.
  • Do one thing each month that will simplify my life. This will probably encompass a lot of things, and I will likely do a lot more than 12 of them, but I’ve got a lot of other goals going on here. This will range from cleaning out closets to getting auto-delivery of pantry stuff from Amazon to putting my student loans on an income-based repayment plan.
  • Read 25 books this year. One book down already!
  • Get my eyebrows threaded. It’s not deep, but I am over tweezing my brows. Don’t judge.
  • Get a mani/pedi at least twice this year. Self-care is important, right?
  • List my 3/3/3 daily. This is how I pray: I list three things I accomplished that day, three things I’m looking forward to, and three things I’m thankful for. It’s like talking over the day with God.

Mushier goals (these are things I want to do, but don’t want to attach measurements to):

  • Drink more water. I know it’s good for me, and my skin and whatnot. This is tied to:
  • Stop drinking soda. I don’t mean I’ll stop completely, because I love a fountain soda, but I’m already at the point where I don’t want a Diet Coke every day, and I’d like to continue that trend.
  • Connect with people more. This means more “real” interactions like phone calls and writing letters. I’m thinking one handwritten letter a month, though that might vary.

I might also consider using fewer commas.

Leave a Reply

