Granola bites

Josh often goes full days only eating dinner because his work is so demanding. (He just started a new job last week, so hopefully these days are behind him.) To help him keep his blood sugar regular, I made him granola bites. I based my recipe off the Cardamom Granola Bar recipe on http://www.allrecipes.com.

I didn’t have cardamom (of course! after Chris pointed it out at the market and everything!), so I subbed in equal parts ginger and cinnamon for it. I upped the nuts and didn’t just use walnuts… I used the cheap peanuts, some candied walnuts, some pecans. I basically just used what I had in the pantry. I also added some flax. I added chopped up dried apricots, dried cranberries and dried cherries. Again, what I had in the pantry. I had some old-fashioned oats and some quick oats. Honey, yes. Brown sugar, half the amount. Mixed it all up, and baked it in a mini muffin pan for portions.

I put servings of two bites in each sandwich bag and put all the individual serving bags in a gallon zipper bag in the pantry. Every morning, Josh would put a couple bags of granola bites in his backpack and eat them when he was starving and couldn’t get to a real meal.

A word of caution: there’s a fine line between “done” and “burnt” with these. Like microwave popcorn. That’s the best analogy I’ve got.

Leave a Reply

