Bender lives!

Last night I finally finished Chris’ birthday gift. His birthday was on the 4th. Good thing he’s a patient guy.

What Chris doesn’t know is that I actually started this project for him LAST fall, for Christmas. Yes, really. I have start-itis — I think I have about 10 knitting/crocheting projects on hand at all times. This weekend, though, I really tried to chug along and wrap this thing up.

I hid the legs and arms as I made them, because Chris really likes guessing what his gifts are. And I like torturing him by not telling. But once he saw the start of one of the pieces, he knew.

Bender, why do you have such a distinctive head?

Bender Bending Rodríguez comes from this pattern (Ravelry link). Well, I say pattern, but it’s more of a chart. Overall, I think he turned out pretty well.

Senior pictures.

He’s pretty large, about 15″ tall. His hands and feet are weighted (with popcorn, since I didn’t have beans or beads on hand). I used black embroidery floss to add his teeth and the details on the arms and legs.

Tomorrow, he goes with Chris to his office, where he will be enjoy a life of nerdy talk and Wii championships.

What you lookin' at?

3 thoughts on “Bender lives!

  1. 39 kajillion. But yes, it took FOREVER. I was actually kind of relieved when he guessed, so I could make it in front of him. He looked over every so often and said, “That is so COOL.”

    So I think he gets it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

