Repainted desk

Finally! A post about the desk painting. So, I have a desk that my mom gave me ages ago. I don’t remember if it was hers or if she bought it at an auction, or what. But I’d warned her years ago that I wanted to paint it and hide the chips and dings and yucky brown color. I don’t do brown.

Here’s what it looked like before:

Particularly attractive with all the crap on it, eh? Clearly it needed an update.

I decided against the shabby chic whitewashing effect I’d thought about in the past, because I wasn’t sure I’d be able to get an effect that I liked, and I was concerned that I would quickly get tired of that look. So I decided on Krylon Global Blue spray paint with a gloss finish.

I dragged the desk out to our screened-in balcony and set to work. First I made a “drop cloth” with trash bags and wide masking tape and set to work. First, the primer:

(The blue on the drop cloth is from the drawers, which I finished first.)

It took forever and a ton of primer to get into all the nooks and crannies. I ended up going through three cans of primer. Maybe I used too much? I just kept spraying until the color was even.

I was priming For. Ever.

Then the blue paint, adding about four coats, which took two cans of paint.

Here it is in our entryway; I left it there for several days before moving it back into the bedroom and putting stuff on top of it.

The drawer pulls are from various places: Anthropologie, Target, Hobby Lobby.

And here it is in all its glory:

I made the poster in Photoshop and printed it at Kinko’s for $2.50. It’s inspired by this print I found on Etsy. And no, I don’t know why all my photos are fuzzy lately!

Leave a Reply

