Worried.

Maybe cats are good practice to having kids someday. Think about it: They get sick with stupid things like cold, eye infections and ear infections and you have to make a call when they get bad enough to have to go to the doctor. Not to mention that they can’t tell you what they want and get angry and start whining and you don’t know why.

It’s really the “when do I take him to the vet?” that has me worried tonight. I noticed a couple days ago that Ash’s eye membrane (if that’s what you want to call it) was pink. I flushed his eye with kitty saline solution and it seemed to irritate him less. I’ve been watching him and adding drops, though, cause it didn’t look like it was getting better and had the telltale discharge of an eye infection. Tonight, when I got home from work, he was pretty much only looking out of one eye:

What? I'm winking...

I called the vet — gone for the day. Which wouldn’t really be a big deal, except tomorrow’s the only day I could get him in before I leave for Houston for the weekend! What if his eye would get worse while I was gone and there was no one here to monitor him? Worries, worries, worries. I figured I’d call as soon as they opened and drop him off, hoping they could squeeze him in. In the meantime, I google “cat conjunctivitis” and read that antibiotic eye ointment is the recommended treatment. That’s when I remembered he was prescribed that for his last eye infection. And… we still had the majority of a tube. Now he’s happily medicated and his eye seems like it hurts him less.

Tomorrow, I’ll line up a friend to stop by and lube his eye up while I’m gone. In the meantime, I can tell he’s not feeling the greatest. He’s cuddling, and that’s not really his m.o.

One thought on “Worried.

  1. Poor kitty! I hope he gets better soon. The cuddling ’cause he’s sick thing is totally like a kid, too. Too bad you can’t pop him on the couch with a popsicle and some cartoons.

Leave a Reply

