Replating rings?

I have a ring I bought in Nashville two falls ago. It’s copper plated, but the copper is wearing off, and I’m thinking about checking Etsy’s Alchemy feature, to see if someone can replate it.

I am hard on rings.

I am hard on rings.

I’m not sure what the base metal is, but it can’t be that strong, as there’s some pitting on the band. Some of that might be intentional, but I don’t think so. I think the inside was plated as well, but I think it was only on the band, not the back of the leaf.

center

It looks kind of interesting now, but I don’t really want a beat-up, distressed-looking ring. I loved the shiny copper look, and I still liked it when the copper got a bit of a patina and darkened. I don’t like the bland, dull finish it has now.

Right

I bought the ring itself for about $25, and I don’t want to spend a ton to replate it. I doubt I will take care of this right now; it might go on my “Deal with it when I have a job” checklist, or I might have Chris take care of it as a Christmas gift. Any thoughts about how much this might cost? I could also just post on Alchemy and ask for estimates.
(And that light box I was talking about? I think I need to get on that!)

6 thoughts on “Replating rings?

  1. Hmmm… the value of copper’s gone up, but my guess is about $10, plus shipping. Of course, you could just melt a couple of pennies and dip it. I’m sure that would work. What’s that you say? It’s a federal offense to mess with money? Whatevs, no one’s using those pennies anyway.

  2. Why are they doing weird things to our money?! First it’s only silver plating and now copper isn’t even fully copper? Next, it will be aluminum money.

Leave a Reply

