April: Goals progress

Complete five (big) home projects.

20%

I haven’t posted my mirror, and I haven’t made any more progress.

Garden.

Josh and I did a big weekend push to get a bunch of the dead stuff in the backyard. Then it rained, and now stuff is attempting to grow again. Sigh. I’ve resigned myself to catching the fall growing season and just working on grass in the meantime. If I can get grass in during May, I probably can get it established before the big heat hits in July.

Read 75 books.

16 / 75

21.3%

I’m now nine books behind. I didn’t listen to any books in my car during my commute in April, and that hurt me.

Lose 10 13 pounds.

I discovered something about myself in April: I am an emotional eater with no willpower. I “reward” myself with delicious food treats and skipping workouts. That said, I gained weight in April (3 pounds) and then worked hard and lost it. So I still have 13 pounds to go, but I lost a percentage of body fat and stopped snacking. If I could up my number of workouts, I think I could drop at least five pounds in May. That’s my goal at least. I joined a SparkPeople challenge to try to keep on track.

Crochet five projects.

I contemplated a hat, but I want a tam and can’t find a good, free pattern for one. I’ll have to keep poking around the internet.

Make two new recipes each month.

25%

I made no new recipes in April. I did make a version of this, though: Broccoli Quinoa Casserole. This was the second time I’ve made it, and I liked this attempt better. The first time I followed the recipe pretty exactly and used cream of mushroom soup (it’s what I had in the pantry). This time, I used cream of broccoli and omitted the Splenda and nutmeg. I also upped the quinoa to 2 cups of cooked and added another half a cup of broccoli.

And with that, all the quinoa I bought in Atlanta last summer is gone. I think I paid $3 for it and made four batches of quinoa patties, two casseroles and ate quinoa as a rice substitute three times. Worth it.

Teach Josh to cook.

Josh has been making our weekly supply of breakfast sandwiches. At first, I was cooking eggs in a muffin pan and using Kraft Singles. Now, we’ve switched to light English muffins, use Sargento Ultra Thin cheese and cook Eggbeaters in a whoopie pie pan. But a large egg fits in there too.

Stockpile food. (and Use my pantry.)

Stockpiling: 0.

I really need to get my act together and do burritos.

Make clothes.
$198.38 / $500

39.7%

A sample sale and a blazer purchase pushed me up. Eeek! My bar’s getting close to half. This means I really need to get sewing.

Do one thing each month that will simplify my life: I unpacked the last two boxes from two years ago when we moved into our house. I found my social security card!

Composting: I’m taking this off in future updates because it’s established.

Social commitments: I actually dropped down to one a week for most weeks.

3 thoughts on “April: Goals progress

Leave a Reply

